The Damned

Production Year: 2013
Release Date: 11/11/2014
Studio: IFC Midnight 
Director: Victor Garcia



The Damned is touted as being a different kind of possession flick.  Given most "possession" films are generally in the vein of The Exorcist or The Evil Dead this idea intrigued me.  After tracking down his daughter (Jill; Nathalia Ramos) in Columbia, David (Peter Facinelli), his fiancee Lauren (Sophia Myles), and a few of his daughter's companions attempt to head to the airport to leave the country.  Unfortunately for them fate has other plans, some extremely nasty weather leaves them stranded and the group attempt to take refuge at a nearby Inn.


The strange Innkeeper almost refuses them entry, but agrees to let them stay as long as they do not wander around the long abandoned hotel.  Sure enough, the group does just that and eventually discovers a young imprisoned girl.  While the girl seems innocent enough, she's actually host to demon, one that's able to jump from person to person if their initial host-body is murdered.


The reviews were accurate The Damned does explore new territory in the demonic possession subgenre, the idea of a demon jumping from host to host only after a violent death is pretty clever and certainly a scary thought.  With a possessed person quickly at your throat the typical reaction is to use the nearest weapon to dismantle the person...With this film that kind of action has dire consequences.  I found The Damned to be an extremely well made and entertaining horror film that does indeed offer a new twist to a subgenre that seems to be reliant on handful of played-out tropes.



Commentary with Actor Peter Facinelli and Writers Richard Dovidio and David Higgins

Commentary with Director Victor Garcia and Editor J.L. Romeu

Heaven Help Us featurette (04:02) - This is simply just a few behind the scenes clips mixed with interviews from various cast and crew members.

Making of featurette (09:45) - A basic "making of" featuring interviews with the cast, producer, and director.

Trailer (01:57)


The Damned is a solid horror film with a good take on an old idea.  Victor Garcia does an excellent job with the material crafting a very suspenseful horror film that's sure to keep the viewer on their toes!

9 comments:

  1. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    ReplyDelete