The Long Hair of Death

Production Year: 1964
Release Date: 12/16/2014
Studio: Raro Video
Director: Antonio Margheriti





After being accused of witchcraft, a poor woman is burnt at the stake at the behest of a king.  One of the supposed witch's daughters (Helen; Barbara Steele) attempts to stop the execution but manages to get herself killed after fornicating with the blood thirsty leader.  The woman's youngest daughter (Lisabeth; Halina Zalewska) is taken away but thankfully spared.  Years later the King's son forces Lisabeth into a marriage she wants no part of and it's all downhill from there.


Before the witch was burnt alive she vowed to have her revenge on the Kingdom.  Now, in what should be the happiest time for the King and his prince, things begin to unravel.  Storms and Plagues haunt the land, as the King is at his very wits end Helen rises from the grave and appears at the castle.  This vision drives the King into madness and unfortunately for him no one else manages to put the pieces together.


The prince falls madly in love with Helen and together the two plan to kill Lisabeth, a decision that will slowly drain the prince of his sanity.  Helen is clearly out to avenge her mother's untimely death and get a bit of revenge for her own murder.  Will she succeed?  


The Long Hair of Death is gothic horror.  Long crumbling corridors, witchcraft, stark imagery, it's a very entrancing film.  The movie is masterfully helmed by Italian legend Antonio Margheriti and has a wonderfully haunting score by Carlo Rustichelli, which manages to be very reminiscent of the ol' Hans and Skinner Universal Monsters scores.  Let's not forget the legendary Barbara Steele who manages to own every scene she's in.  There's a lady with an incredible screen presence.  Overall The Long Hair of the Dead makes for a fantastic watch!


Raro did their part in releasing what's likely the best looking version of this film on home video, but with that said I do want to note that there seems to be a lack of a natural grain structure.  This leaves the image looking soft in spots.  There's a nice contrast however, and overall I was pleased with the look of the film.  The sound is right on part with the picture, offered are two audio tracks (English and Italian) both of which are mono and feature a nice even level between dialogue and Carlo Rustichelli's haunting score.




Video Introduction by Chris Alexander (HD 03:51) - Chris Alexander clearly enjoys Margheriti's gothic opus, the director gives the film quite a bit of praise and relays a few quick tidbits about the film, the director, and a few similar movies.

Interview with Edoardo Margheriti (SD 10:40) - Edoardo (son of Antonio) on The Long Hair of Death!  A number of topics are touched upon with this interview including Margheriti's other films and the director's working relationship with Barbara Steele.

Interview with Antonio Tentori (SD 06:17) - Antonio Tentori (Writer; A Cat in the Brain) gets into the work of the famed director, while there is some time spent on The Long Hair of Death, the writer also spends a bit of time discussing the director's eclectic work.

Italian Trailer (HD 3:34)

US Trailer (HD 3:37)


While some might criticize the film for being "too slow," I feel The Long Hair of Death is an effective little gothic horror flick.  Steele is wonderful as always, Margheriti is on top of his game, and Rustichelli ties everything together with a perfect eerie score.  To date I feel Raro's blu-ray is one of the best releases of the film.  A must own for fans of the director!

10 comments:

  1. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    ReplyDelete