Tusk

Production Year: 2014
Release Date: 12/30/2014
Studio: Lionsgate
Director: Kevin Smith



On June 25th, 2013 Kevin Smith's Smodcast titled Walrus and the Carpenter hit the internet.  The director and his longtime collaborator Scott Mosier discussed an ad with a homeowner offering a room free of rent as long as the denizin is willing to dress up as a walrus.  No joke.  As the duo spoke about the ad something clicked for the Smith, an idea that would eventually put an end to his early retirement.  Wallace Bryton (Justin Long) is a very successful podcaster that travels to the great white north to interview a current internet celebrity known as "The Kill Bill Kid."  Upon arriving Wallace learns of the 'net sensations suicide and is now strapped for ideas and far from home.



Desperate, Wallace heads to a local bar where he discovers an ad that's certain to fix his current situation.  A man named Howard Howe(Michael Parks) is looking for a companion, someone to live in his house and hear tales of his storied life.


Wallace makes the trip to Howe's secluded mansion and begins to interview the eccentric older gentlemen.  Unfortunately for Wallace there's more than just story tellin' planned.  After drugging the young podcaster Howard begins the long and painful process of turning an ordinary human being into an extraordinary...Walrus.  Eventually Wallace's partner and girlfriend make the trek to Canada in hopes of finding their missing companion, with the help of a very strange detective the group set out to unravel a very strange mystery involving a serial killer obsessed with dismantling and the re-assembling human bodies.


Tusk is a film with identity issues.  Is it a comedy, satire, or exploitation movie?  Maybe it's a morality tale about a young man who finds his humanity after being turned into a animal?  It's hard to say, one thing is for certain however, Tusk manages to be an extremely entertaining flick, one of the director's best since Clerks in this reviewers opinion.


Lionsgate have given Tusk a fantastic treatment, not only is the release weighed down with a number of supplements, it's a great looking and sounding film.  The transfer is wonderful with bold colors that seems to pour out of the screen, James Laxton's lush cinematography takes center stage as soon as we enter Howard Howe's mansion and the imagery translates over to the HD format beautifully.  The audio is more of the same, a nice level DTS-HD track featuring a gloomy score that gives way to dialogue that is always clear and audible when present.  Tusk has a solid blu-ray presentation.


Audio Commentary with Kevin Smith 

20 Years to Tusk (24:27 HD) - A straightforward interview with Kevin Smith regarding the road that lead to Tusk. The director discusses his films, what lead to his retirement, and what eventual pulled him out of retirement.

 The Making of Tusk (51:28 HD) - This making of comprised of 14 featurettes. It would have been nice had they been edited together creating a complete and cohesive making of, but unfortunately that's not the case. The featurettes are comprised of various interviews and behind the scenes footage.
Smodcast #269: The Walrus & The Carpenter (29:55) - This is the full podcast where the concept of Tusk was created.

Deleted Scenes (12:19 HD) - Two deleted scenes (Halifax Explosion and Duplessis Orphan) are available for your viewing pleasure. The scenes kick off with an intro from Smith explaining while the scenes were cut. Nothing too major here, just a bit of characterization.


Tusk is the "love it or hate it" film of 2014, and with good reason.  It's a definite departure from Smith's previous work, lost in some sort of purgatory between Clerks and Red State.  To date I feel it's Smith's most interesting looking film and I'm happy that the director has said so long to his early retirement.  Carried by off-the-wall performances from Michael Parks and Johnny Depp, Tusk might not be a film you'll love, but it's certainly a film you won't soon forget.


8 comments:

  1. I thought it was really fun up until the Johnny Depp in a fake Inspector Clouseau costume showed up and threatened to tank the whole thing.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. yea lol i totally agree with you on that.
      It's a great film, but Johnny Depp's french accent kinda ruined it a bit.
      Well, after all it's a comedy, so I guess it goes along with the punch

      Delete
    2. yea lol i totally agree with you on that.
      It's a great film, but Johnny Depp's french accent kinda ruined it a bit.
      Well, after all it's a comedy, so I guess it goes along with the punch

      Delete
  2. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    ReplyDelete