God Told Me To

Production Year: 1976
Release Date: 02/24/2015
Studio: Blue Underground
Director: Larry Cohen




Innocent people are being murdered one after the other, these violent crimes seem almost random in nature however there is one very strange connection. Each of these criminals claim that God told them to. Detective Nicholas (Tony Lo Bianco) becomes obsessed with the influx of murders after coming face to face with one of the perpetrators. As the story unfolds and more people hit the payment the detective discovers that things are a not quite as they seem, that the phrase "God told me to" isn't just a psychopath's excuse.


Larry Cohen has always been a bit of a maverick filmmaker. His work, occasionally regarded as "B movies" or "Exploitation" tend to dive a little deeper than your normal genre fare.   Multilayered-Exploitation; perhaps that's the best way to describe this man's films. Littered with macabre imagery, much like George Romero, there's always a stark and jagged commentary behind the blood.


God Told Me To is no different. It's a weird visceral film that will likely take a few viewings before you can wrap your head around the meaning of the film. Detective Nicholas is religious and becomes very conflicted as he slowly sinks into the strange case. What's causing the murder? God? Much like Cohen's library of films there's much more to it, and no, I will not spoil it. The direction is tight, some of the SFX might leave a bit to be desired however I think it just adds to the overall strange tone of the film. Tony Lo Bianco does a great job, however I am curious how Robert Forester (originally signed on to play the Detective) would have handled the roll. All in All God Told me To is a solid little thriller and this release is sure to please fans of Larry Cohen.


I'm very impressed with Blue Underground's Blu-ray presentation of God Told Me To. It looks and sounds worlds better than it's DVD predecessor. The presentation was pulled from an uncensored negative and looks great! There's a nice dynamic pallet of colors present, a nice consistant grain structure which gives way to great amount of detail. Sound wise there are a number of audio options available; 7.1 DTS-HD, 5.1 Dolby Digital, and DTS-HD Mono. Of the three I really dug the 7.1 option, the film surprisingly benifits from the new mix- especially during the exterior parts of the film.


Audio Commentary with Larry Cohen

Heaven & Hell On Earth - Interview with Star Tony Lo Bianco

Bloody Good Times - Interview with Special Effects Artist Steve Neill

God Told Me To Bone - New Beverly Q&A with Larry Cohen

Lincoln Center Q&A with Larry Cohen

Theatrical Trailers

TV Spots

Poster & Still Gallery


With a slew of new extras and a fantastic transfer Blue Underground has provided Cohen's classic with a presentation more than worthy of an upgrade. For people new to the director, God Told Me To is the perfect place to start!

7 comments:

  1. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    ReplyDelete